FROM: Martell L. Teasley, interim SVP for Academic Affairs

TO: Council of Academic Deans (CAD) and campus leaders

August 30, 2022

Special working group on developing a teaching effectiveness framework

At the U, we recognize the need to evaluate the effectiveness of our instructors. However, for many years, we have relied too heavily on limited and partial sources of evidence to assess teaching effectiveness, primarily student course feedback. The Teaching Effectiveness Framework Ad Hoc working group is being formed to investigate, identify, and develop a Teaching Effectiveness Framework to define, evaluate, celebrate, and reward teaching excellence at the U.

This working group will explore best practices emerging from our peer institutions in creating a common campus-wide approach to teaching assessment that is disciplinarily adapted, enacted, and centrally supported by entities like the Martha Bradley Evans Center for Teaching Excellence. In addition, the group will partner with the Office for Faculty to ensure the results fit with the University of Utah RPT process and guidelines.

Such a framework would achieve the following goals:

- Align closely with the <u>University of Utah mission</u>, the <u>Strategy 2025 document</u> and the <u>E³</u> <u>Framework</u>.
- Connect campus-wide assessment practices with well-researched, peer models using a multidimensional definition of effective teaching and multiple sources of evidence combatting bias and other limitations.
- Improve synthesis and representation of assessment data at the individual, department, college, and university levels.
- Promote, value, evaluate, and reward effective teaching and enhanced student learning.

The working group will meet at regular intervals during the fall semester and the spring semester with recommendations and a framework emerging in the spring semester that can be presented to the Council of Academic Deans (CAD) and socialized among a variety of faculty groups and the Academic Senate. There is an aspiration to implement the framework in summer 2023, with full deployment during the fall 2023.

The working group will have key members of several Academic Senate committees to ensure alignment with other institutional efforts and provide close collaboration for shared success.

Team members

Jim Agutter (chair) Anne Cook Adam Halstrom Staci McIntosh Rob MacLeod Brian Harris Rachel Hayes Wendy Hobson-Rohrer Myra Washington Rebecca Wilson Holly Godsey Sneha Kasera Hollis Robbins Emma Houston